Finished my coding bootcamp

Photo by Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

Finished my coding bootcamp

I recently finished my team treehouse tech degree. A year ago, I quit my overnight job and took coding more seriously. With the money, I saved up from work I was able to buy myself my desk and monitor, all of the stuff I needed to help me. Now I would like to talk about the journey and what I learned about myself...

Be patient

When I first started I wasn't as patient, with myself when it came down to coding. I would rush to get to the next section. Granted I was already familiar with HTML and CSS. I knew a little bit of JavaScript like the variables, arrays, functions and creating a conditional statement. But sometimes I would get frustrated with myself because I wasn’t retaining certain information quickly like I wanted to. That's when I would have to go back and check out my notes and reread them. I knew I wouldn't become a Front-End Developer overnight but I had to understand that I would have to be patient with myself and trust the process.

Dealing with Rejection

Since I finished the coding boot camp. I started to apply for jobs and see if I have any luck. I applied for 20 jobs so far and got rejected 5 times. It was difficult because I would see the email and get excited waiting to see the response. Just open it and realize they rejected me again. But I just look at it as another challenge for me to break through.

More to come

I would like to say thank you for reading my post! It's been a while since I wrote one. I have to get better at doing this. Sometimes I overthink what I'm about to write then I save the draft and leave it there. So I'm making a promise to myself to document my journey more! Thank you again!